Bennet Jones Jessup Canadian Rounds 2024

Congratulations to the 2024 National Champions,
the University of Toronto!

Hosted by the Canadian Council on International Law

The Jessup is one of those incredibly rare experiences that transcends law school and impacts your life for decades thereafter. It will undoubtedly provide you with the skills necessary to become a great lawyer, but it is the Jessup competition’s teaching of reason, civility, empathy, compromise and respect for others which will make you a better person and the world a better place.

– Mark A. Luz, Senior Counsel, Trade Law Bureau (Canada)

The Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition is the world’s largest moot court competition, with participants from roughly 700 law schools in 100 countries.  It provides law students with the opportunity to prepare written and oral arguments on complex issues of public international law involving hypothetical cases before the International Court of Justice.

The Canadian Division Qualifying Tournament has been hosted by a Canadian law school annually since 1973. Teams from every Canadian law school, both civil and common law, are eligible to compete.  Typically the winning two team(s) move on to the White & Case International Rounds, held each spring in Washington, D.C.,  see the Global Jessup website for more details.

    • Canadian teams have made the advanced playoff rounds in Washington, D.C. five of the last six years.
    • This has included three Top-10 finishes (that means, Top 10 of ALL the teams that competed in the preliminary rounds).
    • In 2023, a Canadian team placed 9th in the World for their written submissions
    • In 2022, a Canadian team advanced to the world quarter finals and in 2017, a Canadian team made it to the world semi-finals,
    • Canadian students have been recognized in the Top-20 of ALL oral advocates in the world three times in the last five years.
    • Canadian teams have made it to the finals of the world rounds eight times since 1976.
    • We last won in 1991.
    • We last made the finals in 1997.